FSHPA Inc. Communications,Lois Hottinger

Check here for the latest Florida World of Horseshoes News. Just E-mail me with Tournament or Player News that we need to let Florida Horseshoe Players know. It will be posted here as needed with the date posted for your information. Thanks,†† Lois Hottingeremail:lchipper@hotmail.com



February 28, 2017


To access information about the Florida State Championships, click on the following link:The entry form and rules are now available.April 1 is due date for entry into State Championships.



Tournament Directors:Begin getting your Tournament Dates in place for the 2017-18 calendar.I will be asking for them soon ;-)†††††††††††††††††† Lois



                  ††††††††††††† ††††† The Rules for 2016-2017 Tournament Participation Contest

1. The FSHPA member who participates in the most Florida Tournaments over quota of (16)  from  April 1, 2016 through March 31, 2017 will win.  The winner will receive a $65 pair of horseshoes (winnerís choice) , and tournament shirt that identifies them as (# 1 ) for the year. If we have a tie for 1st. a mini drawing will held to decide the tiebreaker for the winner. Those who do not win the tie breaker see rule††† ( # 2)


2.  All FSHPA members who do not win the top prize and surpasses a quota of 16 Tournaments will have their name placed into a drawing.   I.E. If you complete 20 Tournaments your name will go in 4 times.  Memberís name picked will receive a Wooden Horseshoe Case ($50.00) value or horseshoes (same value as case) winnerís choice.  


3. A quota of 10 Florida Tournaments (NHPA) out of state members has been established. Any Tournament over Quota, your name will be entered into a drawing for a free Florida Tournament of your choice for 2016-2017 season.


4. All drawings will be held at the Florida State Tournament In Clearwater, Florida---- April 2017


You can follow your progress on the Florida Web Site under the Tag line-- MEMBERS THAT HAVE PITCHED IN THE MOST TOURNAMENTS. It will show FSHPA MEMBERS at the top with (NHPA) out of state members listed towards the bottom 




Bob Dunn, NHPA Historian, has just completed publishing a book about a phase of our sport that very few are aware of - The AAU National Amateur Horseshoe Pitching Championships. It is interesting and well done. After the publishing costs are recovered the proceeds will go to the NHPF, Bob will not earn a penny on this project. Please forward this postcard to all on your contact list and have it reprinted in your charter newsletter. Encourage your members to purchase a copy and for clubs to purchase copies to use in tournaments as fundraisers. Let's support Bob's efforts here to raise funds for the NHPF. Please direct all responses to Bob Dunn  bobcharlesdunn@aol.com